Ajit Pawar led rebel NCP faction ousted Sharad Pawar as party president three days before oath

The rebel faction of the Nationalist Congress Party, led by Ajit Pawar, has ousted Sharad Pawar from the top post of the party, which was founded and led by him for more than two decades. Sources from the rebel faction have claimed that they have mentioned this in their letter to the Election Commission, in which they have staked claim to the party name and symbol.

As per the sources in the Election Commission, the letter submitted by rebel faction has termed Ajit Pawar as its president on June 30, which is three days before Pawar’s shocking inclusion in Eknath Shinde-Devendra Fadnavis led Maharashtra government. Around 40 MLAs, MPs, and MLCs had signed the affidavits that day supporting the rebels.

Sources have also revealed that the Election Commission have also received letter from Sharad Pawar’s loyalist Jayant Patil, who informed them about the proceedings against some of the MPs and MLAs.

While 29 MLAs paraded for rebel faction, only 17 turned up to support Sharad Pawar. Some MLAs appeared for both the sides and some, none at all.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Privacy & Cookies Policy