Atletico Madrid crowned as La Liga Champions on the final day of the league

Atletico Madrid won the La Liga title for the first time since 2014 after beating Real Valladolid 2-1 on the last day. Atletico came from behind to seal the victory and Suarez scored the winning goal that helped Atletico’s side to win their first title in a long time.

Atletico Madrid finished the title with 86 points ahead of city rivals, Real Madrid who were in second place with 84 points. Barcelona was in the third position after a disappointing season and finished with 79 points in their respective games. Atletico Madrid was the favorite to win the competition this season after Luis Suarez’s hot form helped him in scoring 16 goals in 17 games.

This is the eleventh La Liga title in the history of Atletico Madrid. Simeone now has won two La Liga titles, two UEFA Europa league, two UEFA Super Cup, one Copa del Rey and one Supercopa Espana. Simeone has changed the Atletico side drastically and has helped them in winning some trophies in a competition that is highly dominated by Real Madrid and Barcelona.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More