Congress sweeps Punjab local body polls winning all seats amid farmers’ protest


Congress won all seven seats in municipal corporations in Punjab declared today.

The places that were declared were Moga, Abohar, Batala, Kapurthala, Hoshiarpur, Bathinda, and Pathankot. Mohali’s results haven’t been declared yet and will be declared tomorrow. Congress has come back in Bhatinda after 53 years. BJP was allied with Shiromani Akali Dal (SAD) for the longest time up until the farmers’ protests last September. The voter turnout for the polls was 71.39% despite many of the farmers from Punjab protesting the farm bills. Among 2,215 wards, the general category consists of 1,480 wards while 610 consists of scheduled castes and 125 are Backward Caste wards.

The elections were held at a time when many farmers from Punjab are protesting the farm bills. They have been protesting in and around Delhi since November.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More