EC announces election dates for 4 states and a Union Territory

The Election Commission (EC), on Friday, announced the election dates in Kerala, Assam, West Bengal, Tamil Nadu and Puducherry.

Polling in West Bengal would be in 8 phases and will take place on March 27, April 1, April 6, April 10, April 17, April 22, April 26 and April 29. Kerala to go to polls in a single phase on April 6. Assam will have the election in three phases on March 27, April 1, and April 6. A one-phase election in Puducherry and Tamil Nadu will be conducted on April 8. The results of all five assembly elections to be announced on May 2.

The EC said that the Model Code of Conduct will come into effect after the polling dates are announced. They also said that for the polls, people in the polling booths will be considered frontline workers in terms of vaccination. Apart from this, voting to be allowed for an extra hour.

In total there will be 824 assembly constituencies for the elections. 2.7 lakh polling stations will be set up.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More