India’s Top 5 Longest Serving Prime Ministers

List of India’s top five longest serving Prime Ministers.

1. Pandit Jawaharlal Nehru – 16 years 286 days

Credit: National Herald

Jawaharlal Nehru is The First & The Longest Served Prime Minister of India. He took the command of the office from 15 August 1947  to 27 May 1964. He served for a total of 16 years & 286 days. Nehru belonged to the Political party- Indian National Congress. He was a graduate of Trinity College , Cambridge & practiced as a Lawyer at Allahabad Highcourt , later he developed interest in Country Politics & started his journey as a freedom fighter. Pandit Nehru shaped the future of India by establishing world class education institutes like All India Institute of Medical Sciences, Indian Institute of Technology & Indian Institute of Management. Nehru was born on 14 November 1889 at Allahabad & died on 27 May 1964 at New Delhi .

2. Indira Gandhi – 11 years

Credit: Financial Times

Indira Priyadarshini Gandhi was the first & till date only Female Prime Minister of India. She is the second longest served Indian Prime Minister. Indira was the daughter of First Prime Minister of India Jawaharlal Nehru. Indira served from 24 January 1966 to 24 March 1997 which accounts for 11 years. Indira was the Head of Indian National Congress. She was assassinated by her bodyguard on 31 october 1984.

3. Manmohan Singh – 10 years 4 days

Credit: The Print

Manmohan Singh was the 13th & first Sikh Prime Minister of India. He served as Prime Minister from 22 May 2004 to 26 May 2014. Manmohan Singh is known for his Globalization reforms.

4. Narendra Modi – 8 years ,present

Credit: The Indian Express

Narendra Damodar Das Modi  is the 14th & current serving Prime Minister of India. He is a member of Bhartiya Janata Party  (BJP). Despite many flaws Narendra Modi is regarded as the most powerful & popular Prime Minister of India & ranks 9th on the list of World’s most Powerful People. He assumed the office on 26 May 2014 with a majority of votes in his favour.

5. Atal Bihari Vajpayee – 6 years 64 days

Credit: DNA India

Atal Bihari Vajpayee was the 10th Prime Minister of India. He had served a total of three terms as Prime Minister of India. Vajpayee assumed the office on 19 March 1998 to 22 May 2004. He was the first Prime Minister of India who was not of the Indian National Congress to serve a full term in Office. He was the Co- Founder of Bhartiya Janata Party (BJP). During his tenure as Prime Minister , Pokhran- II nuclear test was conducted.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More

mersin escort