Know which countries are Russia’s neighbors

Russia and Ukraine were once part of the Soviet Union and today the situation of military conflict has become between the two. This is not Russia’s first dispute with any of its neighbors. There has also been a dispute regarding many parts of its 60 thousand km long border (Russian Border). The dispute with Ukraine extends far beyond the border. Many facts about the Russian border are very unique.


The dispute between Russia and Ukraine is deepening and all efforts to stop it have failed. Russia has taken military action in the eastern areas of Ukraine. A national emergency has been declared in Ukraine. Russia is the largest country in the world and with it there are many interesting facts about its border that many people do not know. It is such a country in the world whose border is with 20 countries of the world. Of these, only 8 were part of the former Soviet Union. Out of 60932 km long Russian border, 22125 km is land and 38807 is sea border.

Table of countries that have a border with Russia (listed counterclockwise around Russia):

  1. Norway
  2. Finland
  3. Estonia
  4. Latvia
  5. Lithuania
  6. Poland
  7. Belarus
  8. Ukraine
  9. Lugansk People’s Republic
  10. Donetsk People’s Republic
  11. Georgia
  12. Abkhazia
  13. South Ossetia
  14. Azerbaijan
  15. Kazakhstan
  16. China
  17. Mongolia
  18. North Korea
  19. Japan
  20. United States

Russia and China share a lot of border area with each other. Both the countries share a 4200 km long border. In which this border passes through many rivers and lakes. The distance between Lagoveshchensk city of Russia and Heihei city of China is only 500 meters. The Amur River also divides the two countries. Local people of both the countries can also greet each other during morning walk. In Siberia, there is a distance of only 6 kilometers between the towns of Zabaikalsky and Manzouli.

Very few people pay attention to the fact that Russia and America are close neighbors, the closest border between the two countries is less than 4 kilometers. This distance of 3750 meters separates the two Diomid islands from the Bering Strait. The International Date Line also passes near this boundary line between Russia’s Ratomanov Island (Little Diomede) and America’s Cruschestern Island (Little Diomid).

The border between Russia and Japan was fixed after the Second War, this border passes through the area of ​​the Kuril Islands. At the same time, the border between Russia and North Korea is less than 40 kilometers. Where the Russia-Japan border is disputed because Japan considers its part of the island. The border with North Korea passes through the Tumannaya River. A bridge between the two countries was built in the Soviet era.

Mongolia is a country located between Russia and China, which shares a border of 3485 kilometers with Russia. But Russia and Kazakhstan have the longest border line in the world. Its length is 7598.8 km, which is between Astrakhan to Altai. Kazakhstan is a major ally of Russia.

Russia shares borders with Finland, Norway and Estonia in the northeast. There are eight checkposts between Russia and Finland. At the same time, the border with Norway on its Arctic Circle was completely closed in Soviet times. Estonia and Russia are allies of the Soviet era. Pepsi Lake separates the two. The border between the two was exchanged in 1957, on which the dispute is still going on.

The border between Russia and Latvia is only 270 kilometers. Latvia is a member of NATO, similarly Luthiana is also a member of NATO which shares a border with Russia near the Baltic Sea. Apart from this, Poland also shares a border with Russia with a part connected to the Baltic Sea. Belarus is the only country in Eastern Europe that is a firm ally of Russia. At present Belarus Ukraine is completely with Russia in crisis. Russia shares its border with Ukraine at Bryansk, Kursk, Begrad, Vornez and Rostov areas. The island of Crimea was previously part of Ukraine, which was annexed by Russia in 2014. At the same time, apart from Azerbaijan in the south, the borders of Georgia and its separated Abkhazia and South Ossetia also share with Russia.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More