List of all Indian Presidents from 1947 to 2022

Since Independence (From 1947 to 2022), here is a list of all Indian presidents:

In India, the President is the Head of State. He or she is referred to as the country’s first citizen. Article 52 of the Indian Constitution states that there shall be a President of India, and Article 53 states that he or she shall exercise all executive powers of the Union either directly or through officers subordinate to him.

The Indian Constitution was adopted on November 26, 1949, and went into effect on January 26, 1950. Rajendra Prasad was India’s first constitutional head of state, the President of India. Ram Nath Kovind is the current President of India. On July 25, 2017, he was elected as the 14th President of India by the electoral college.

Details of the qualifications, election, and impeachment of the President of India are provided in Part V (The Union) of Chapter I (The Executive) of the Indian Constitution. Part V of the Constitution, Articles 52 to 78, deals with the Union Executive. The President of India is also the head of the country’s executive, legislative, and judicial branches.

The President is in office for a five-year term beginning on the day he takes office. He may, however, resign from his position at any time by writing to the Vice-President and addressing the resignation letter to him. Furthermore, he can be removed from office before the end of his term through the impeachment process. The President can stay in office beyond his five-year term until his successor takes over. He is also eligible to run for re-election to that position.

The Electoral College elects the President of India, which includes the elected members of both the Houses of Parliament, the elected members of the legislative assemblies of the states and the elected members of the legislative assemblies of the Union Territories of Delhi and Puducherry and the representation of its members is preferential. Their vote is single transferable and their second choice is counted too. Do you know that no law can be imposed in India without the President’s signature?


Dr. Rajendra Prasad

Dr. Rajendra Prasad was India’s first President, serving for two terms. He also served as President of the Constituent Assembly and as the Chief Leader of the Indian Independence Movement. In 1962, he was awarded the Bharat Ratna.

Dr. Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan

Dr. Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan was born on September 5, 1888, which is recognised as Teacher’s Day. In 1954, he was awarded the Bharat Ratna.

Dr. Zakir Husain

Dr. Zakir Husain was India’s first Muslim President and died in office. V.V. Giri, the immediate Vice President, was named acting President. Following that, Chief Justice of the Supreme Court Mohammad Hidayatullah served as acting President from July 20 to August 24, 1969.
In 2002, the Government of India awarded Mohammad Hidayatullah the Padma Bhushan in the field of art. He also brought about a revolution in Indian education.

V.V Giri

V.V Giri was India’s fourth President. Varahagiri Venkata Giri was his full name. As an independent candidate, he became the only person to be elected President. He was awarded the Bharat Ratna in 1975.

Fakhruddin Ali Ahmed

Fakhruddin Ali Ahmed was India’s fifth President. He was the second President to pass away while in office. Acting President BD Jattha was appointed.

Neelam Sanjeeva Reddy

Neelam Sanjeeva Reddy was elected as India’s sixth President. He was Andhra Pradesh’s first Chief Minister. He was elected directly to the post of Lok Sabha speaker and became the youngest President to occupy Rashtrapati Bhavan and run for President twice.

Giani Zail Singh

Prior to becoming President, he served as Chief Minister of Punjab as well as a Minister at the Centre. On the Indian Post Office Bill, he also used Pocket Veto. Many incidents occurred during his presidency, including Operation Blue Star, Indira Gandhi’s assassination, and the 1984 anti-Sikh riots.

R. Venkataraman 

R. Venkataraman served as India’s President from July 25, 1987 to July 25, 1992. Previously, he served as India’s Vice President from 1984 to 1987. He has received numerous honours from around the world. He was awarded the “Tamra Patra” for his contributions to India’s liberation struggle. Aside from that, the Russian government awarded former Tamil Nadu Prime Minister Kumaraswami Kamaraj the Soviet Land Prize for writing the travelogue.

Dr. Shankar Dayal  Sharma 

Before becoming President, he served as India’s eighth Vice President. From 1952 to 1956, he was the Chief Minister of Bhopal, and from 1956 to 1967, he was a Cabinet Minister. Due to their numerous accomplishments in the legal profession, the International Bar Association awarded them the ‘Living Legend of Law Award of Recognition.’

K.R. Narayanan

K. R. Narayanan was India’s first Dalit President and the first Malayali to hold the highest office in the country. He was the first President to cast a vote in the Lok Sabha elections and to address the state legislature.

Dr. A. P. J. Abdul Kalam 

Dr. A. P.J. Abdul Kalam became known as the “Missile Man of India.” He was the first scientist to be elected President of India, as well as the first President of India to receive the most votes. Rohini-1 satellites, Agni and Prithvi missiles were successfully launched under his direction. Following the original nuclear test in 1974, he played a pivotal political, organisational, and technical role in the Pokhran-II nuclear tests in India in 1998. In 1997, he was awarded the Bharat Ratna.

Shrimati Pratibha Patil 

Before becoming President, she was the Governor of Rajasthan. She served five terms in the Maharashtra Legislative Assembly from 1962 to 1985 and was elected to the Lok Sabha from Amravati in 1991. Not only that, but she was the first female president to fly a Sukhoi.

Pranab Mukherjee

Before running for president, Pranab Mukherjee was the finance minister in the central government. In 1997, he received the best Parliamentary Award, and in 2008, he received the Padma Vibhushan, India’s second-highest civilian honour. He died on Monday, August 31, 2020, at the age of 84.

Ram Nath Kovind 

Ram Nath Kovind was born in Uttar Pradesh, India, on October 1, 1945. He is a lawyer and politician from India. He is India’s 14th and current President. He was elected President of India on July 25, 2017 and is a member of the Bhartiya Janata Party. He was previously the Governor of Bihar. His approach to political problems earned him praise from all sides of the political aisle. His accomplishments as Governor included the establishment of a judicial commission to investigate university corruption.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More

mersin escort