Mayawati’s BSP and Akali Dal form alliance ahead of Punjab polls

After breaking ties with Bhartiya Janata Part (BJP) due to the farm laws, Shiromani Akali Dal (SAD) has formed alliance with Bahujan Samaj Part (BSP) for Punjab Assembly Elections in 2022.

However, the Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) is going to contest the seats which were earlier alloted to Bhartiya Janata Party (BJP). With the new alliance Sukhbir Singh Badal led party is all set to fill the space in consecutive number of seats after splitting up with Bhartiya Janta Party (BJP).

“It’s a new day in Punjab politics. The Shiromani Akali Dal and the Bahujan Samaj Party will fight the 2022 Punjab state polls and future elections together,” stated Sukhbir Singh Badal confirming the alliance at a press conference today, according to NDTV reports.

The State Assembly in total has 117 seats. Out of which Akali Dal will be contesting for 97 seats whereas, 20 seats have been assigned to Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP).

Importantly, Sukhbir Singh has notably mentioned of tying up with parties rather than Congress, BJP and Arvind Kejriwal led Aam Aadmi Party (AAP)

“We cannot align with these parties. We will form alliances and we are open to others. No chance to go with BJP at all,” the 58-year-old leader had said last week, highlighted by NDTV.

Akali Dal had been the oldest of allaince with BJP back in the year 1992. Akali dal used to be the senior partner in the alliance contesting 90 out of 117 seats and the remaining being alloted to BJP.

Akali Dal pulled out of the NDA in September last year more than three farm laws, which set off a tempest of protest from farmers, generally from Punjab and Haryana. As the bills were introduced in the Lok Sabha, the solitary Akali serve in Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s bureau, Harsimrat Kaur Badal, quit. The minister, who was important for the bureau that cleared the bill, had attracted a great deal of analysis the state.

After seven days, Sukhbir Badal called the bills “deadly and appalling” for its key citizen base of farmers and quit the NDA.

The Akali Dal and the BSP, which was battling solo in the state, saw a plunge in vote share in the 2017 gathering surveys contrasted with the 2007 surveys. The Akali Dal-BJP partnership came to control in 2007 preceding being removed by the Congress in 2017 that won a flat out lion’s share in the state by winning 77 seats.

The AAP, which arose as a significant power in the 2017 surveys, got 23.7 percent of the votes while the BJP’s vote share went down from 8.28 percent in 2007 to 5.4 percent in 2017.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More