Queen Elizabeth II death: Who will be succeeding her as the next monarch?

The monarch who ruled over the nation for more than 70 years, Queen Elizabeth II, passed away. The entire globe, but especially Britain, is in mourning. At Balmoral, the Queen passed away on Thursday at the age of 96, not long after news of her poor condition broke. After his mother passed away, King Charles is now the next king of Britain. There are a number of customary procedures that must be followed for the coronation of the next King even if the Royal family is now through a difficult time.

The new king!

King Charles is now the reigning monarch of Great Britain. At 73 years old, he is the oldest king to assume the throne. His wife, Camilla, has become the Queen Consort. The King will be known as King Charles III. For the longest period in the British monarchy’s history, King Charles served as the heir apparent to the throne. When his mother was crowned Queen in 1952, he was three years old and immediately became the heir apparent.

King Charles has now assumed the throne, but within 24 hours of Queen Elizabeth’s passing, he will be formally installed as the monarch. The King is at Balmoral right now; on Thursday, he hurried there to be with his mother when she passed away.  The event is held in front of the Accession Council, which is made up of senior MPs, both past and present, peers, senior civil officers, Commonwealth high commissioners, and the Lord Mayor of London, in St. James’s Palace in London.

King Charles Issues a Proclamation

The King has since issued a statement regarding the Queen’s passing. “The passing of my loving mother, Her Majesty The Queen, is a time of the deepest sorrow for me and all members of my family,” he said. We deeply lament the loss of a beloved mother and beloved Sovereign.

“I am confident that the nation, the Realms, the Commonwealth, and a great number of people all over the world will be devastated by her passing. The statement continued, “My family and I will be comforted and sustained through this time of loss and change by our understanding of the respect and profound affection in which The Queen was so universally cherished.

The new head of commonwealth!

King Charles now has the title of Head of the Commonwealth, a grouping of five autonomous nations, 14 of which will recognise him as their Head of state, as a result of his heir to the throne. Australia, Canada, the Bahamas, Antigua and Barbuda, Belize, Grenada, Jamaica, Saint Christopher and Nevis, Papua New Guinea, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Tuvalu, New Zealand, and the Solomon Islands are among the 14 countries.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Privacy & Cookies Policy