Tirath Singh Rawat: to resign as Uttarakhand CM

Uttarakhand CM Tirath Singh Rawat has written a letter to BJP president JP Nadda and offered to resign

Ahead four months after he took an oath, Uttarakhand Chief Minister Tirath Singh Rawat has offered a notice to resign from his post. In a letter to BJP national president JP Nadda, Tirath Singh Rawat  said he has offered to resign in order to “avoid a constitutional crisis” in the state.

In the wake of developments, the BJP has asked Union minister Narendra Singh Tomar to go to Dehradun tomorrow as an observer. Meeting of BJP MLAs was called by the party high command.

Tirath Singh Rawat took an oath as Uttarakhand’s chief minister on March 10, by replacing Trivendra Singh Rawat.

At the time of taking oath, Tirath Singh Rawat was not an elected MLA in the Uttarakhand Assembly, and was rather a Lok Sabha MP representing Pauri Garhwal. He continues to be a Lok Sabha MP at present.

As per the Constitution, a minister or the chief minister has to get elected to the state legislature within six months of taking oath. The person can be elected for legislative assembly or for the legislative council. Uttarakhand does not have any legislative council.

Currently, there are two vacant assembly seats in Uttarakhand i.e. for Gangotri and Haldwani. Gangotri’s vacancy went vacant after the death of BJP MLA Gopal Singh Rawat and Haldwani’s after the death of Leader of Opposition Indira Hridayesh.

Speaking to various news portals, he said it is the Election Commission’s prerogative to hold or not conduct the bypoll, and the party will move forward accordingly.

According to the latest update Tirath Singh Rawat has resigned and the meeting for electing the new MLA is kept on Saturday, 3rd July 2021 at 3pm in Dheradhun

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Privacy & Cookies Policy