BCCI announces 20-man squad for World Test Championship final

The BCCI has announced on Friday the 20-man squad for the World Test Championship (WTC) final against New Zealand at Lord’s and for the following five match test series in England. Virat Kohli will be back and will lead the side. BCCI have named four standby players Abhimanyu Easwaran, fast bowler Prasidh Krishna, Avesh Khan and Arzan Nagwaswalla as few players will be leaving UK in the final week of May.

There are few surprises in who couldn’t make it to the squad, are opener Prithvi Shaw, all-rounder Hardik Pandya and pacer Bhuvneshwar Kumar. As far as BCCI is concerned Hardik was not considered as a pure batsman. He has been bowling on few occasions due to the recent past back injury he had.
Indian selection committee chairman MSK Prasad said “If at all he’s fit to bowl, only then he should be picked. If he can’t bowl, he shouldn’t be picked as simple as that.”

India has not picked any specialist fast-bowling all-rounder in the squad. But Shardul Thakur, however has been called up for the WTC final and the England series.

India’s Squad for WTC final and England Test series:
Virat Kohli (Captain), Ajinkya Rahane (vice-captain), Rohit Sharma, Shubman Gill, Mayank Agarwal, Cheteshwar Pujara, Hanuma Vihari, Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), R. Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Washington Sundar, Jasprit Bumrah, Ishant Sharma, Mohammad Shami, Mohammad Siraj, Shardul Thakur, Umesh Yadav, KL Rahul (subject to fitness clearance), Wriddhiman Saha (wicket-keeper; subject to fitness clearance).

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More

mersin escort