Disney invites African toon talents for ‘Kizazi Moto’ animated anthology series

The ten-part anthology film series will be bringing together a number of rising animation talents from six nations to produce action-packed sci-fi stories and fantasy tales.

Disney has reached out to the top toon talents from across the African continent for its upcoming Disney+ original anthology of animated films titled “Kizazi Moto: Generation Fire”, which is set to premiere on the streaming platform in late 2022. Taking inspiration from the continent’s diverse histories and variety of cultures, the 10-part anthology films will be bringing together a number of rising animation talents from six nations in the African region in order to produce action-packed sci-fi stories and fantasy tales that will be presenting bold visions of advanced technology, aliens, spirits, and monsters, which will be imagined from a uniquely African perspective.

After a multi-year research process that included inputs from Ghanaian comic book blogger Kadi Tay, the award-winning Congolese animation supervisor Sidney Kimbo-Kintombo known for his work in Avengers: Endgame, and Namibian-South African producer Bridget Pickering known for the movie Hotel Rwanda, about 70 leading creators and directors were invited to pitch their ideas from across the continent. The process was produced and curated by the team at Triggerfish Animation Studios based in Cape Town, South Africa, which also includes supervising producer Tendayi Nyeke, the head of development Anthony Silverston, and Kevin Kriedemann, who initially proposed the idea for the anthology series.

Oscar-winning director Peter Ramsey of the Spider-Man: Into the Spider-Verse fame will be serving as the executive producer of the movie. 15 shortlisted projects were mentored by Ramsey and the creative teams from Triggerfish as well as Disney. The final ten films that will be produced are from;

  1. Ahmed Teilab (Egypt)
  2. Simangaliso “Panda” Sibaya and Malcolm Wope (South Africa)
  3. Terence Maluleke and Isaac Mogajane (South Africa)
  4. Ng’endo Mukii (Kenya)
  5. Shofela Coker (Nigeria)
  6. Nthato Mokgata and Terence Neale (South Africa)
  7. Pious Nyenyewa and Tafadzwa Hove (Zimbabwe)
  8. Tshepo Moche (South Africa), Raymond Malinga (Uganda)
  9. Lesego Vorster (South Africa)

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Privacy & Cookies Policy