Google is set to delete ‘Inactive Accounts’ from today; Here’s everything you need to know

As part of its increased security measures, Google will delete inactive accounts that haven’t been touched in two years to protect users from security threats like identity theft, unwanted spam and scams.

Google will delete unattended accounts, including all images, Drive documents, contacts, e-mails and calendar entries, starting today, December 1. In May, the tech giant announced a change in its inactivity policy.

In a blog post, Google explained that inactive accounts are “more likely to be compromised” because they could use old or re-used passwords and two-factor authentication may not be enabled. The first batch of accounts to be deleted will be those that were created and then never used again.

It is advised that you login into your account and signal to Google that you are active by using Google Drive, Google Photos, Gmail or Google Play to avoid having your account deleted. Sending an email, installing an app, running a Google search, or watching a YouTube video are all examples. Furthermore, if you have active subscriptions, such as Google One or other apps, your account is safe from the purge.

Account holders who are affected will receive numerous notifications before their accounts are deleted, giving them many chances to download data or back it up.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Privacy & Cookies Policy