PFA awards given out to De Bruyne, Foden, Kirby and Hemp

Manchester City’s Kevin De Bruyne and Phil Foden won the PFA Players’ Player of the Year and the Young Player of the Year award respectively, while Chelsea’s Fran Kirby won the women’s top award while Lauren Hemp won the Young Player of the Year in the women’s category.

The Professional Footballers Association is the union for all current and former footballers and scholars in the Premier League, the FA Women’s Super League and the English Football Leagues. Every spring, each member of the association votes for two players. A shortlist of nominees is published in April and the winner of the award, along with the winners of the PFA’s other annual awards, is announced at a gala event in London a few days later.

De Bruyne was up against Foden in the senior competition for the award, as well as Manchester City teammates Ruben Dias and Ilkay Gundogan. Manchester United’s Bruno Fernandes and Tottenham’s Harry Kane were also nominated.

Foden won the award over the likes of Trent Alexander-Arnold, Mason Mount, Declan Rice, Bukayo Saka and Mason Greenwood in the young player category.

Fran Kirby beat Chelsea colleagues Sam Kerr and Ann-Katrin Berger to win the women’s POTY for the second time in her career. Manchester City’s Samantha Mewis, Lauren Hemp, Chloe Kelly were also nominated.

Lauren Hemp won the PFA Young Player of the Year award. Hemp’s Manchester City teammate Ellie Roebuck, Manchester United’s Ella Toone and Lauren James, Chelsea’s Niamh Charles and Bristol City’s Ebony Salmon were also nominated.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Privacy & Cookies Policy