Sports Ministry invites applications for National Sports Awards

Because of the COVID-19 outbreak, the Sports Ministry accepted applications for the national sports awards on Thursday, enabling qualified athletes, coaches, universities, and other bodies to self-nominate and submit online for the second year in a row. The deadline for applications is June 21st.

“In view of the current pandemic situation, the nominations for the National Sports Awards will be accepted online, this year,” the Ministry stated.

“Last year the Sports Ministry had for the first time allowed for self-nomination of applicants in view of the pandemic. This year too, self-nomination will be allowed. National Sporting Federations will also nominate athletes for the top honours,” it added.

Applicants required recommendations to apply until 2019, but the criterion was relaxed last year due to the COVID-19 lockdown, which prohibited individuals from moving freely. The honours were given to 74 people last year.

The prize money was also greatly enhanced, with Khel Ratna awards receiving Rs.25 lakh, Arjuna awards receiving Rs.15 lakh, Dhronacharya (Lifetime) awards receiving Rs.15 lakh, and Dhyanchand winners receiving Rs.10 lakh.

Last year, cricketer Rohit Sharma, women’s hockey team captain Rani Rampal, wrestler Vinesh Phogat, Paralympian Mariyappan Thangavelu, and TT player Manika Batra were all jointly given the Khel Ratna in an unprecedented gesture.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More