Warner, Maxwell, Cummins are among seven Australian players playing IPL, who are pull out of WI and Bangladesh tours

Seven top Australian cricketers who recently played in the IPL are not included in the country’s white-ball tour of West Indies and Bangladesh. These two tours are a part of the team’s preparations for the T20 World Cup later this year. This move will leave coach Justin Langer without seven players for four months out from the T20 World Cup which is to be held in October and November.

Those seven players are David Warner, Pat Cummins, Glenn Maxwell, Jhye Richardson, Kane Richardson, Marcus Stoinis, and Daniel Sams. Cricket Australia (CA) said in the statement that these players have requested not to be considered for the tours for various reasons while Steve Smith has been rested to recover from an elbow injury which flared during the IPL.

The CA on Wednesday announced an 18-man squad for the twin tours. Australia will play five T20 internationals and three ODIs between July 9 and 24. The five-match T20 tour of Bangladesh is yet to be confirmed. Cricket Australia stated, “The tours are subjected to the agreement in bio-bubbles arrangements and relevant government approvals.”

The Australian Squad for West Indies and Bangladesh tour: Aaron Finch(c), Aston Agar, Jason Behrendoff, Alex Carey, Dan Christian, Josh Hazelwood, Moises Henriques, Mitchell Marsh, Ben McDermott, Riley Meredith, Josh Philippe, Mitchell Starc, Mitchell Swepson, Aston Turner, Andrew Tye, Mathew Wade, Adam Zampa.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Privacy & Cookies Policy