IPL 2021: Punjab Kings claim a nine-wicket victory after three comprehensive defeats

Punjab Kings dominated Mumbai Indians at the MA Chidambaram Stadium, Chennai to register a win after three straight losses. Punjab won the toss and decided to field first and managed to choke Mumbai Indians. Mumbai just scored 21 off the first six over, losing Quinton de Kock(3) as well, making it the lowest powerplay total of this season so far. However, Rohit Sharma (63) played a captain innings along with Suryakumar Yadav (33) and Pollard’s 16 not out helped Mumbai put some score on the board.

Ravi Bishnoi and Mohammad Shami contributed Punjab with two wickets each with a fine economy of 5.20, while Deepak Hooda and Arshdeep Kaur took one wicket each to restrict Mumbai for a low total of 131. Mumbai’s middle-order didn’t contribute much including Hardik Pandya (1), Krunal Pandya (3) and Ishan Kishan (6).

Mumbai also failed to bowl with the same intensity as Punjab openers KL Rahul and Mayank Agrawal scored 45 off the powerplay. Skipper Rahul played a slow and steady start to finish knock to score his third fifty of the season. Rahul was accompanied by Chris Gayle (43*) after losing Mayank for 25.

Rahul and Gayle played a 79 run partnership off 63 balls to help Punjab win by nine wickets. With this win, Punjab jumps to the fifth spot in the points table, while Mumbai faces their second defeat in a row after losing to Delhi Capitals in the last match.


This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Privacy & Cookies Policy