Jonny Bairstow becomes the fourth fastest batsman to reach 1000 IPL runs

Jonny crossed the 1000 run milestone in just 26 innings, Shaun Marsh tops the list.

When it comes to batting, IPL is all about explosive hitting which has embraced some really good talents out of batters throughout. With every season passing, we can see some really over the top performances with the bat. It’s been the same this year too whether it was Virat’s 6000 runs milestone or Raina’s 200..

Yet in match 21of the IPL we encountered another record-making inning. This time it is the big hunky English batter Jonny Bairstow reaching the fourth fastest batter to a 1000 IPL runs. Jonny crossed the1000 run milestone in just 26 innings. Here is a list of top-five batters to reach the 1000 run milestone faster than the others.



  1. Shaun Marsh: Marsh reached this milestone in just 21 innings with a decent average of 39.95 and had the ability to strike hard which was a great asset to the team. He played for Kings XI Punjab (Punjab Kings now) as a mainstay and scored a total of 2477 runs with 20 fifties and a hundred. His highest individual IPL score is 115.
  2. Lendl Simon: The Trinidabadian played for Mumbai Indians and opened for the team as well. Simson paired with Dwayne Smith was an affecting opening pair for the Mumbai franchise. He completed this milestone in 23 innings with an average of 39.96 including eleven fifties and one hundred. His individual Best IPL score is 100.
  3. Matthew Hayden: The volatile Australian batter comes third in the list, reaching the 1000 runs milestone in just 25 innings. He has been one of the most deadly openers of all time in IPL as well as in international cricket. He only played 32 matches in which he scored a total of 1107 runs with eight fifties. His best individual IPL score is 93.
  4. Jonny Bairstow: The England Opener-Wicketkeeper made it into the list in the 2021 edition of the IPL. He crossed the 1000 run mark in 26 innings with an impressive average of 43.77 including 7 fifties and one hundred. Bairstow currently plays for SRH and made his IPL debut in 2019 against the KKR. HIs best IPL individual score is 114.
  5. Chirs Gayle: The huge West-Indian comes fifth in the list passing the milestone in 27 innings. No doubt it’s a surprise that the Gayle storm doesn’t top the list with a massive strike rate of 149 and an average of 40. He has so far scored 4891 runs and is currently playing for the Punjab Kings. Gayle has obtained 31 fifties and six hundred (most in the IPL). Gayle’s best IPL individual is as big as him i.e 175.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Privacy & Cookies Policy