Nortje and Ismail grabbed most of the achievements at Cricket South Africa awards

South Africa’s pacer Nortje and female team Shabnim Ismail shined in the award ceremony on Monday. Nortje and Ismail were awarded South African male and female cricketer of the year in their respective categories. The event was conducted virtually.

Shabnim Ismail sweeps up at the award night, also winning the Women’s T20I Cricketer of the Year and also South Africa’s Women Players of the Year award. Ismail became just the third player to win the prize multiple times following Marizanne Kapp and Dane Van Niekerk. Ismail previously won South Africa’s Women’s Cricketer of the Year in 2015. Marizanne Kapp did in 2013 and 2014 and Dane van Niekerk 2016,2018 and 2019.

It seemed like it was Nortje’s night as he the Test Cricketer of the Year. This was not the only award, he also won the award for South Africa Fan’s Player of the Year and shared the award with his teammate Aiden Markram for men’s player of the year.

South Africa’s batsman Rassie van der Dussen bagged the ODI Cricketer of the year and Spinner Tabraiz Shamsi claimed Men’s T20I Cricketer of the Year while Lizelle Lee was awarded for Women’s ODI Cricketer of the Year.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Privacy & Cookies Policy