Sunil Gavaskar says India may not dominate World Cricket like West Indies and Australia

Sunil Gavaskar has revealed why he does not reckon that India will be as dominant as West Indies & Australia by highlighting their inconsistencies at times.

Former skipper Sunil Gavaskar believes it is too soon to compare the modern-day Team India to the West Indies and Australia of yesteryear. Sunil Gavaskar elaborated, saying that though India has a ‘supremely gifted’ squad, there are a lot of ‘inconsistencies’ in their performances as well.

“I doubt they’ll be able to dominate as the West Indies did. They won all five Test matches, as did the Australians, who won four out of five. I’m not sure if this Indian squad can achieve that because, though they are a phenomenally skilled squad, there are inconsistencies that you can see from time to time. That is the one thing that causes me to hold my breath.  But, in terms of this team’s potential, I believe the sky is the limit,” Sunil Gavaskar stated this on a YouTube channel.

Gavaskar believes that not all 11 players can succeed in a game of cricket. However, if four of them can – two batsmen and two bowlers – you will win more games. And that is exactly what this Indian squad is capable of.

Back in the 1970s and 1980s, the West Indies squad, captained by the flamboyant Clive Lloyd, was a force to be reckoned with in both ODI and Test cricket. The Caribbean squad has won the first two World Cups in 1975 and 1979, respectively. They also reached their third consecutive final in 1983, but were defeated by the then-underdogs India. Their cricket apparently began to decline around the conclusion of that decade.

Australia, on the other hand, was an all-conquering squad in all versions of the game in the late 1990s and early 2000s. Between October 1999 and November 2007, Australia played 93 Tests, winning 72 of them and drawing 11 of them.

However, it is their supremacy in the One-Day International (ODI) format that distinguishes them from the others. During this time, Australia won three World Cups in a row (1999, 2003, and 2007), as well as the ICC Champions Trophy twice in a row (2006 & 2009). They also won a memorable Test series in India for the first time since 1969 during the 2004/05 season.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More