Vinoo Mankad has been inducted into the ICC Hall of Fame before the WTC final

The International Cricket Council (ICC) honoured ten legends of the game, including India’s Vinoo Mankad, into its renowned Hall of Fame on Sunday, with two players from each of five eras cutting. The announcement comes ahead of the first World Test Championship final, which will be held in Southampton on June 18 and will feature India and New Zealand.

“The 10 legends of the game to be inducted have all made a significant contribution to the history of Test cricket, and join an illustrious list of ICC Hall of Famers, taking the total number to 103 as a result of this intake,” the ICC said in a statement.

Players from five different eras of Test cricket were included on the list.

1) Early Cricket Era: Aubrey Faulkner (SA) and Monty Noble (AUS)

2) Inter-War Era: Sir Learie Constantine (WI) and Stan McCabe (AUS)

3) Post-War Era: Ted Dexter (ENG) and Vinoo Mankad (IND)

4) ODI Era: Desmond Hayes (WI) and Bob Willis (ENG)

5) Modern Era: Andy Flower (ZIM) and Kumar Sangakkara (SL)

The ICC Hall of Fame Voting Academy, active Hall of Fame members, a FICA representative, acclaimed cricket journalists, and top ICC figures voted online to determine their nominations for induction in each of the five eras.

Mankad played 44 Tests, scoring 2,109 runs at 31.47 and taking 162 wickets at 32.32, making him one of India’s greatest-ever all-rounders. His most notable achievement was against England at Lord’s in 1952 when he scored 72 and 184 runs and did bowl 97 overs.

He is one of only three cricketers in history to have batted in every position during their Test careers. Later in Mumbai, he mentored Sunil Gavaskar, another renowned cricketer and fellow ICC Hall of Fame member from his country.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More

mersin escort