WhatsApp is likely to bring in its view once feature

A Facebook owned messaging platform, WhatsApp is bringing in its view once feature, according to reports. The feature will enable the users to send media like, photos or videos that can be viewed once after which it will disappear. This feature is quite similar to the expiring media Snapchat first featured where users can view photos and videos once following which it will disappear.

When the feature will get introduced, user will find a clock-like icon next to the “add a caption” bar. On selecting the icon, user can send views once or expiring videos to contacts. However, it is not clear as yet if WhatsApp will enable the users to replay pictures and videos as in snapchats. On the other hand, if the users have disabled read receipts, the recipient will be able to see if the user have opened the photo or video set to view once. However, the sender will not be able to see when the recipient have opened the media. Even if the user disable their read receipt in groups they will be allowed to see when the other participants have opened the expiring photos.

Features tracker WaBetaInfo reported that the feature is rolling out for beta testers and is in tune with the 2.21.14.3 version. Furthermore, the features trackers also shared screenshots that suggested that users will be able to send expiring media by taking live snaps or by choosing photos from their gallery.

In the month of November, WhatsApp introduced Disappearing messages that disappeared messages sent after seven days. The setting did not affected the previous sent or received messages. In an individual chat, the user can turn the disappearing messages setting on or off according to their wishes while in a group chat, only the group admin will be able to control the setting. Recently, Facebook CEO, Mark Zuckerberg expressed about launching the disappearing mode for WhatsApp.

WhatsApp is also reported to bring in several other features namely, multi device support with end-to-end encryption. This feature enables the users to login to a single WhatsApp account using multiple devices. At present users can login to a single account using their phone or computer, once this feature is enabled user can use multiple devices at same time.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More